Home > Swimming > Lifeguard Training > Courses 

In order to take the American Lifeguard course participants must:

  1. Be at least 15 years old by the last day of the course attended Pass the prerequisites:
  2. Swim 300 yards continuously demonstrating breath control and rhythmic breathing Tread water for 2 minutes, using only the legs
  3. Complete a timed event within 1 minute and 40 seconds:
    1. Starting in the water swim 20 yards
    2. Surface dive to a depth of 7-10 feet to retrieve a 10 pound object Return to the surface and swim 20 yards on the back
    3. Exit the water without using a ladder or steps
  4. Attend all training sessions
  5. Perform all skills with accuracy
  6. Pass a written test with a score of at least 80%

Prerequisite Schedule:

When: March 5th 2018
Where: Eldon and Elsie Ward Family YMCA
Time: 5:00p-6:00p


When: March 14th 2018
Where: Eldon and Elsie Ward Family YMCA
Time: 5:00p-6:00p


When: March 20th 2018
Where: Eldon and Elsie Ward Family YMCA
Time: 6:00p-7:00p


When: April 4th 2018
Where: Eldon and Elsie Ward Family YMCA
Time: 6:00p-7:00p

When: April 17th 2018
Where: Eldon and Elsie Ward Family YMCA
Time: 6:00p-7:00p

 


Lifeguard Class Schedule:

Cost: *Free for potential staff!*
Contact us for more details or questions

Member Rate: $200
Non Member Rate: $250

 

When: February 3rd-4th and February 10th-11th 2018
Where: Jerry L. Garver YMCA
Time:
Contact: Sbower@ymcacolumbus.org
 

When: March 10th-11th and March 17th-18th 2018
Where: Liberty/Powell YMCA
Time:
Contact: Stighe@ymcacolumbus.org
 

When: March 23rd-25th and March 30th-31st 2018
Where: Gahanna/John E. Bickley YMCA
Time:
Contact: Michael.Oldham@ymcacolumbus.org


When: April 7th-April 8th and April 14th-April 15th 2018
Where: Grove City YMCA
Time:
Contact: Sdamron@ymcacolumbus.org


When: April 21st-April 22nd and April 28th-April 29th 2018
Where: Hilltop YMCA
Time:
Contact: Stephanie.Harris@ymcacolumbus.org


When: May 5th-May 6th and May 12th-May 13th 2018
Where: North YMCA
Time:
Contact: Michael.Oldham@ymcacolumbus.org


When: June 2nd-3rd and June 9th-10th 2018
Where: Delaware County YMCA
Time:
Contact: Stighe@ymcacolumbus.org


When: August 4th-5th and 11th-12th 2018
Where: Hilliard/Ray Patch YMCA
Time:
Contact: Aidan.marshallryan@ymcacolumbus.org


When: August 18th-19th and August 25th-26th 2018
Where: Eldon and Elsie Ward Family YMCA
Time:
Contact: Sbower@ymcacolumbus.org


When: September 8th-9th and September 15th-16th 2018
Where: Union County YMCA
Time:
Contact: Ben.Fox@ymcacolumbus.org


When: October 6th-7th and October 13th-14th 2018
Where: Pickaway County YMCA
Time:
Contact: Carrie.Augenstein@ymcacolumbus.org


When: October 20th-21st and October 27th-28th 2018
Where: Gahanna YMCA
Time:
Contact: Michael.Oldham@ymcacolumbus.org
 

When: November 3rd-4th and November 10th-11th 2018
Where: Hilliker YMCA
Time:
Contact: Debbie.Sheehan@ymcacolumbus.org

Back to Lifeguarding Homepage